Washington can use the "C5 + 1" partner relation in negative way, which includes the United States, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. This was announced by Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov.

On January 15, Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov commented the partnership "C5 + 1" at a press conference on the "Diplomatic Results of the Russian Federation in 2017". He told: "We do not mind that our neighbors in Central Asia conduct a vast foreign policy. However, we have heard that the United States wants to use this partnership negatively. This is similar to what we already mentioned in the "Great Central Asia" project. If our American colleagues negotiate with our friends from Central Asia on non-economic geopolitics, they will realize that this will not go well. Our project "Big Eurasia" is in contradiction with this ideology. It is based on the idea of unity and gradual unity. As a result, we will unite the entire Eurasian continent".

Recall, US Deputy Secretary of State for South and Central Asian Affairs Alice Wells noted that Washington is planning to meet with Central Asian foreign ministers in the "C5 + 1" format in one of the countries of the region.

Translated by Nazerke Syundyukova

“The Qazaq Times”